• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

BD’s Back, Tell a Friend!

I am officially back! A lot has happened in the past several months. Not much has happened that I feel is appropriate to post to the whole interweb, so I’m going to have to leave it at that.

I’ve not really kept up with biblio-blogdom as I would’ve liked, so I’m counting on you all to fill me in on anything critical that I should know about. I did notice, however, that Larry Hurtado is blogging now!!! I’m very excited to see him enter this arena and have enjoyed what I’ve seen at his blog so far.

I have to admit that I have not glanced at my Greek NT, grammar, vocabulary, etc during my time away. I started to remedy this last week and am currently working through Mounce’s latest update to his intro grammar. Now, I know most of this already, but hope to cement the material in my head and catch anything I missed before moving on to Wallace’s massive volume (to be followed by BDF and/or Robertson).

Needless to say, these next few months will be heavy on Greek related postings. Maybe one day I might get to the level of blogging on the subject that Mike Aubrey has achieved. That’s going to take a long while though!

I’m going to steer away from my old style of pointing out other posts that I found beneficial. That became more of a way to attract views than anything else. That’s not to say that I won’t dialogue with material on others’ blogs, but I will not simply regurgitate what’s already been said. I think ending this practice will not give me the viewership I had before, but that’s not what I care about any more. I want substance in my posts, not subsistence for my blog!

So, what do you say? Shall we have another go at this?

MSE

18 Responses

  1. Welcome back!

  2. Let’s see…. I “might” read something you wrote about Greek 🙂

    Glad you’re back!

  3. Glad you’re back, Matt. If you’re ever at DTS, let me know and we’ll have lunch or coffee.

    • I’ve definitely got to take you up on that offer sometime. You’ve been here for a year already and I still haven’t met you!

  4. Glad you’re back! I was thinking and praying for you just this week. You asked us to fill you in on what you missed: to that I answer (sarcastically) absolutely nothing!

    • I sure appreciate your prayer, Andy. Thank you! And it’s nice to know I can pick right back up where I left off without worrying about being behind on anything! 😉

  5. Ah, welcome back!

  6. Matt: I finish up Friday, but the spring semester starts Jan. 11. I’ll be there Tues-Fri, every afternoon, so maybe we can meet sometime then.

  7. It is good to have you back. I’ve previously enjoyed your fresh perspective on things.

    May we assume from your comment above that you were able to make it into school?

    • Thanks! It’s really very good to be back.
      I have not made it into school yet. I’ve been accepted to Dallas Seminary, but the money just isn’t there right now. Maybe next year, or maybe I’ll save some more and go to a school in the UK!

  8. […] (yes, that Matt Evans) has returned to the blogosphere after a break. He is refreshed, alive, and set to deliver some posts on New Testament Greek (he already has one […]

Leave a Reply

