• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Weight Training (or I’m Not as Tough as I Like to Think)

I’ve been doing some weight training over the past (almost) week. I’ve discovered that I am not as tough as I thought I was or even as much as I used to be. It’s sad really. It’s made me realize that I’ve got some work to do. Here’s what I’ve been doing:

Saturday
Bench Press – 2 warm-up sets followed by 2 x 12
Military Press – 2 warm-up sets followed by 2 x 12
Bench Dips – 2 sets to failure
Crunches – 2 sets to failure

Monday
Leg Press – 2 warm-up sets followed by 2 x 12
Leg Curl – 2 warm-up sets followed by 2 x 12
Standing Calf Raises – 2 warm-up sets followed by 2 x 12

Wednesday
Bent Over Rows – 2 warm-up sets followed by 2 x 12
Upright Rows – 2 warm-up sets followed by 2 x 12
Bicep Curls – 2 warm-up sets followed by 2 x 12

Now, I know this isn’t too much, but remember that I haven’t done any real weight training in about three years or so. Basically, I’m using this as a sort of pre-conditioning for what’s to come. I plan on doing this system for another few weeks then I’ll change it up a little.

By the way, I’m not a fan of upright rows!

MSE

4 Responses

  1. hey man, I used to be an exercise science major, a great book (I see you’re training to failure) is body by science, save you time and get you strong!

    • Thanks Geoff! I’ll check it out. How are things down there in Corpus? You know that’s where my wife is from. I even went to STSCS down there for a semester.

  2. Wow, that’s where I go to school…weird.
    Things are well, and I like the weather. How’re things not here?

Leave a Reply

