• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Training

I’ve gained some extra weight since leaving Oral Roberts University in ’06. Recently I’ve been wondering why this is, so I examined what the difference is between now and then. I found two things: I ate the correct amount of calories there (or close to it) and I was on an aerobics point system (it was required).

Several weeks ago I began to correct this. I’m keeping track of my calorie intake now to make sure I don’t put too much in and I’ve gotten on Kenneth Cooper’s aerobics point system (the one ORU students loathe) again. Since then I’ve dropped nearly 20 lbs!

I’ve still got a ways to go to be where I’d like to be, but I think I’m on the right track now. Today I added a third element: weight training. Up to now I did purely aerobic activities, but I’d like to add some muscle mass too. I looked around online and found a program that seems well-suited for this.

I just got back a little while ago from working on my pectorals, deltoids, and triceps. I didn’t do nearly as well as I used to, but that’s to be expected with just starting again. What I didn’t expect was the inability to lift my arms now that I’m back!

I’m exercising and eating right to be healthy and, I’ll admit, to impress my wife. To do this I must continue to be self-controlled in all things. Paul tells us that there is another way, a more important way, to exercise:

Do you not know that all the runners in a stadium compete, but only one receives the prize? So run to win. Each competitor must exercise self-control in everything. They do it to receive a perishable crown, but we an imperishable one. So I do not run uncertainly or box like one who hits only air. Instead I subdue my body and make it my slave, so that after preaching to others I myself will not be disqualified. (1 Cor 9:24-27, NET)

I’m trying to remember that while I subdue my body physically, it is far more important that I am a “participant of the gospel” (v.23).

MSE

Leave a Reply

