• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Resources for Studying Baptism

The other day I asked what resources I would need for studying the synoptics. Today, I’m curious what resources you would suggest for studying baptism in and around the New Testament. I’ve got just a couple in mind, but really would appreciate some direction.

Now, I don’t want to leave you hanging as to why I’m looking for resources in these two areas, but I also don’t want to give everything away. Let’s just say that I’m working on something for Nick’s Trinity Blogging Summit. I’m not sure if it’ll turn into anything amazing yet, but I plan on putting in some effort.

So, what works do you suggest for researching baptism?

MSE

12 Responses

  1. Everett Ferguson, Baptism in the Early Church: History, Theology, and Liturgy in the First Five Centuries (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2009).

    That honestly should be all the book you need but I’d also add:

    Gordon S. Mikoski, Baptism and Christian Identity: Teaching in the Triune Name (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2009).

    Richard E. DeMaris, The New Testament in Its Ritual World (New York: Routledge, 2008).

  2. G. R. Beasley-Murray’s Baptism in the New Testament is a classic.

  3. Ferguson’s book is excellent.

    I would also recommend:

    Maxwell E. Johnson’s The Rites of Christian Initiation: Their Evolution and Interpretation
    and
    Mark Searle’s Christening: The Making of Christians

    They’re a little older, but I think they are excellent resources.

  4. Down in the River to Pray: Revisioning Baptism as God’s Transforming Work

    • Thanks for adding that, Mark. I’m not sure that’s what I’m looking for exactly, but I’ll check into it nonetheless.

  5. Also check out Come to the Waters by Daniel T. Benedict

  6. Beliver’s Baptism: Sign of the New Covenant in Christ, edited by Schreiner and Wright.

Leave a Reply

