• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Translation Woes and Solutions

Today I worked on a translation of Mark 1:21-34. It’s supposed to be the next in my series where I’m translating through Mark. There’s a couple problems though.

First, without BibleWorks (which is on my desktop PC) I am having trouble posting the Nestle-Aland text in a table. I can fix this easy enough by downloading a Greek font and typing it in, but it’s not the only problem.

Second, I’ve been blogging thanks to my netbook. It does not have Microsoft Word on it (which is what I’ve used to create those nice tables in my translations). So, it appears I’m stuck.

There is hope though! Yes, my current desktop PC may be all but gone, but there is still hope. I’m getting a new PC! Ok, maybe not so much new, as it is refurbished and very cheap, but that’ll do, pig. That’ll do! It should be here in the next few days (I assume) at which point I’ll work on scavenging some good parts from my current desktop (video card, dvd player, hard drives) and moving them over to the new PC.

Once it’s set I’ll post my translation of Mark 1:21-34 and all will be right with the world again. Of course, you can expect me to finish Mark next Monday and post that as well.

MSE

4 Responses

  1. If you download Windows Live Writer than you can create tables in your blog posts and publish them right from there.

  2. Matt, I hope you get your new PC up and running soon. I can only imagine how frustrating it is not being able to do something you obviously have a passion for.

    • It is frustrating, not only because of my blog, but also since we have all of our pics, financial info, and other stuff. It’ll work out though.

Leave a Reply

