• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Translation of Mark 1:1-11

Thanks for your suggestions yesterday. I seriously considered them, but in the end my favorite book won out. Yes, I have begun the process of translating the Gospel according to Mark. If today’s experience with it gave me a glimpse of what to expect then it should be very, very fun (and educational too).

Of course you know how this works. I give you the Greek, my attempt at a translation, and a modern translation all side-by-side. Then you weigh in with your thoughts, encouragements, suggestions, questions, et al.

Greek

My Translation

NET

1 Ἀρχὴ τοῦ εὐαγγελίου Ἰησοῦ Χριστοῦ [υἱοῦ θεοῦ]. The beginning of the good news of Jesus Christ, Son of God The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.
2 Καθὼς γέγραπται ἐν τῷ Ἠσαΐᾳ τῷ προφήτῃ· ἰδοὺ ἀποστέλλω τὸν ἄγγελόν μου πρὸ προσώπου σου, ὃς κατασκευάσει τὴν ὁδόν σου· As it has been written in Isaiah the prophet, “Look! I am sending my messenger before you, who will prepare your way, As it is written in Isaiah the prophet, “Look, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way,
3 φωνὴ βοῶντος ἐν τῇ ἐρήμῳ· ἑτοιμάσατε τὴν ὁδὸν κυρίου, εὐθείας ποιεῖτε τὰς τρίβους αὐτοῦ, a voice shouting in the wilderness, “Prepare the way of the Lord! Make his paths straight!” the voice of one shouting in the wilderness, ‘Prepare the way for the Lord, make his paths straight.'”
4 ἐγένετο Ἰωάννης [ὁ] βαπτίζων ἐν τῇ ἐρήμῳ καὶ κηρύσσων βάπτισμα μετανοίας εἰς ἄφεσιν ἁμαρτιῶν. John the baptizer came into the wilderness and was proclaiming a baptism of repentance for forgiveness of sins. In the wilderness John the baptizer began preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.
5 καὶ ἐξεπορεύετο πρὸς αὐτὸν πᾶσα ἡ Ἰουδαία χώρα καὶ οἱ Ἱεροσολυμῖται πάντες, καὶ ἐβαπτίζοντο ὑπ᾽ αὐτοῦ ἐν τῷ Ἰορδάνῃ ποταμῷ ἐξομολογούμενοι τὰς ἁμαρτίας αὐτῶν. And all the Judean country and all the people of Jerusalem were going out to him, and they were being baptized by him in the Jordan River while confessing their sins. People from the whole Judean countryside and all of Jerusalem were going out to him, and he was baptizing them in the Jordan River as they confessed their sins.
6 καὶ ἦν ὁ Ἰωάννης ἐνδεδυμένος τρίχας καμήλου καὶ ζώνην δερματίνην περὶ τὴν ὀσφὺν αὐτοῦ καὶ ἐσθίων ἀκρίδας καὶ μέλι ἄγριον. And John was clothed in camel hair and wore a leather belt around his waist, and he was eating locusts and wild honey. John wore a garment made of camel’s hair with a leather belt around his waist, and he ate locusts and wild honey.
7 Καὶ ἐκήρυσσεν λέγων· ἔρχεται ὁ ἰσχυρότερός μου ὀπίσω μου, οὗ οὐκ εἰμὶ ἱκανὸς κύψας λῦσαι τὸν ἱμάντα τῶν ὑποδημάτων αὐτοῦ. And he was proclaiming, “One more powerful than I is coming after me; I am not worthy to untie the strap of his sandals. He proclaimed, “One more powerful than I am is coming after me; I am not worthy to bend down and untie the strap of his sandals.
8 ἐγὼ ἐβάπτισα ὑμᾶς ὕδατι, αὐτὸς δὲ βαπτίσει ὑμᾶς ἐν πνεύματι ἁγίῳ. I baptized you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.” I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.”
9 Καὶ ἐγένετο ἐν ἐκείναις ταῖς ἡμέραις ἦλθεν Ἰησοῦς ἀπὸ Ναζαρὲτ τῆς Γαλιλαίας καὶ ἐβαπτίσθη εἰς τὸν Ἰορδάνην ὑπὸ Ἰωάννου. And it happened in those days, Jesus came from Nazareth in Galilee and was baptized in the Jordan by John. Now in those days Jesus came from Nazareth in Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan River.
10 καὶ εὐθὺς ἀναβαίνων ἐκ τοῦ ὕδατος εἶδεν σχιζομένους τοὺς οὐρανοὺς καὶ τὸ πνεῦμα ὡς περιστερὰν καταβαῖνον εἰς αὐτόν· And immediately, while coming up out of the water, he saw the heavens splitting and the Spirit coming down on him like a dove. And just as Jesus was coming up out of the water, he saw the heavens splitting apart and the Spirit descending on him like a dove.
11 καὶ φωνὴ ἐγένετο ἐκ τῶν οὐρανῶν· σὺ εἶ ὁ υἱός μου ὁ ἀγαπητός, ἐν σοὶ εὐδόκησα. And a voice came out of the heavens, “You are my beloved Son, in you I take delight.” And a voice came from heaven: “You are my one dear Son; in you I take great delight.”

If anyone can tell me if v11 gives an example of a gnomic aorist in εὐδόκησα I will be very happy. I’ve never heard of a gnomic aorist before and through a lot of reading (JBL, BDAG, BBG, ExSyn) I concluded that this is the case. However, nothing ever said definitively that this verse falls in that category. So, I’m counting on those who are more knowledgeable than I to fill me in. Thanks!

MSE

2 Responses

  1. How did you get that grid in which to put your work? Is it just a table?

Leave a Reply

