• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Translation of 1 Corinthians 2:1-5

Well, I did it again. I attempted another translation. This one was a little more difficult than last week’s, but wasn’t too bad. Just remember as you read that I went with a somewhat literal translation.

Greek

My Translation

NASB

1 Κἀγὼ ἐλθὼν πρὸς ὑμᾶς, ἀδελφοί, ἦλθον οὐ καθ᾽ ὑπεροχὴν λόγου ἢ σοφίας καταγγέλλων ὑμῖν τὸ μυστήριον τοῦ θεοῦ. And when coming to you, brothers, I came not with superiority of speech or wisdom while proclaiming to you the secret of God. And when I came to you, brethren, I did not come with superiority of speech or of wisdom, proclaiming to you the testimony of God.
2 οὐ γὰρ ἔκρινά τι εἰδέναι ἐν ὑμῖν εἰ μὴ Ἰησοῦν Χριστὸν καὶ τοῦτον ἐσταυρωμένον. For I decided not to have known anything among you except Jesus Christ and him having been crucified. For I determined to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified.
3 κἀγὼ ἐν ἀσθενείᾳ καὶ ἐν φόβῳ καὶ ἐν τρόμῳ πολλῷ ἐγενόμην πρὸς ὑμᾶς, And I was with you in timidity and in fear and in much trembling, I was with you in weakness and in fear and in much trembling,
4 καὶ ὁ λόγος μου καὶ τὸ κήρυγμά μου οὐκ ἐν πειθοῖ[ς] σοφίας [λόγοις] ἀλλ᾽ ἐν ἀποδείξει πνεύματος καὶ δυνάμεως, and my speech and my proclamation were not in persuasive words of wisdom, but in spirit and power, and my message and my preaching were not in persuasive words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power,
5 ἵνα ἡ πίστις ὑμῶν μὴ ᾖ ἐν σοφίᾳ ἀνθρώπων ἀλλ᾽ ἐν δυνάμει θεοῦ. in order that your faith is not continually in human wisdom, but in the power of God. so that your faith would not rest on the wisdom of men, but on the power of God.

So, what do you think? What do you like? Dislike? Did I mess up somewhere along the way? Remember that your input is very much appreciated since I am still learning.

MSE

2 Responses

  1. Thanks, Dr. Black. Your approval means a lot.

Leave a Reply

