• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

DVD vs. VHS

So yesterday I talked about analog and digital tv. Today it’s DVDs and VHS tapes. Ok, so I may be jumping into this debate about ten years too late, but I figure it’s ok. This is my blog and I can post what I want.

Anyway, the other day my wife and I got a few DVDs from the library (they’re free there, so it’s nice). We put one in (Jungle 2 Jungle) and started to watch. Jungle 2 Jungle was one of those funny movies that I laughed at as a kid. It has Tim Allen in it, so you know the type of humor. Anyway, we get about two thirds of the way through and it starts becoming all static-y (that’s a word, right?). It was so bad that we couldn’t finish the movie. This is very annoying.

You see, this is a kid’s movie, so kids get their little hands all over the dvd. The scratch it, get oily hand grease all over it and this eventually ruins the thing. Now, I grew up in the days of VHS. We didn’t have this problem then (except that one time I put a got a butter knife stuck in the VCR). You could throw that tape around the room like a ball and it wouldn’t matter. But DVDs are so fragile in the grand scheme that it just doesn’t last (especially when a kid’s involved).

So, I’m going to go against the grain and say that VHS tapes should still be made and that, by law, people who have kids should be required to buy/rent/borrow VHS rather than DVD.

MSE

3 Responses

  1. Not too sure though I have a few VHS tapes.

  2. Yeah. I have a few VHS tapes too, but no longer have a VCR.

  3. That business would go under in days! I don’t even think I own any of the movies I used to have on VHS on DVD…I didn’t own alot of VHS tapes because every vcr we owned would always screw up. Now I got a blu ray player, but own like 2 blu rays because they are too expensive and not that different from dvd to be worth shelling out lots of money.

Leave a Reply

