• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Translation of Ignatius, To the Ephesians 18

It’s well past time for another selection from the Apostolic Fathers. This time I give you my translation of Ignatius, To the Ephesians 18. I should note that those vocabulary cards I bought the other day are already paying off with my translation work. Soon enough I’m sure it will make a world of difference. Well, I hope you like my translation.

Greek

My Translation

Holmes’ Translation

1 Περίψημα τὸ ἐμὸν πνεῦμα τοῦ σταυροῦ ὅ ἐστιν σκάνδαλον τοῖς ἀπιστοῦσιν ἡμῖν δὲ σωτηρία καὶ ζωὴ αἰώνιος ποῦ σοφός ποῦ συζητητής ποῦ καύχησις τῶν λεγομένων συνετῶν My spirit is humble before the cross, which is offensive to the unbelieving, but salvation and eternal life to us. Where is the wise man? Where is the debater? Where is the boasting of those who speak intelligently? My spirit is a humble sacrifice for the cross, which is a stumbling block to unbelievers but salvation and eternal life to us. Where is the wise? Where is the debater? Where is the boasting of those who are though to be intelligent?
2 ὁ γὰρ θεὸς ἡμῶν Ἰησοῦς ὁ Χριστὸς ἐκυοφορήθη ὑπὸ Μαρίας κατ᾽ οἰκονομίαν θεοῦ ἐκ σπέρματος μὲν Δαυείδ πνεύματος δὲ ἁγίου ὃς ἐγεννήθη καὶ ἐβαπτίσθη ἵνα τῷ πάθει τὸ ὕδωρ καθαρίσῃ For our God, Jesus the Christ, was conceived by Mary according to God’s direction, from the seed of both David and of the Holy Spirit. This one was born and baptized in order that by his suffering he might purify the water. For our God, Jesus the Christ, was conceived by Mary according to God’s plan, both from the seed of David and of the Holy Spirit. He was born and was baptized in order that by his suffering he might cleanse the water.

Questions? Comments? Insults? Threats? Anything you would do differently? Things that I did wrong?  Bring on the comments (except maybe those threatening ones).

MSE

Leave a Reply

