• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Christmas Movie Meme

Jason posted a new meme at his blog on Christmas movies. He lists his five favorite Christmas movies (in no particular order) and came up with Gremlins, Home Alone, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, and A Christmas Story.

My list is very different than his (and is in my order of preference).

Miracle on 34th Street

Coming in at #5 is Miracle on 34th Street. Though it’s had a few incarnations, still the original 1947 film is the best. I try to catch this if it comes on tv during the Christmas season. Great film.

It’s A Wonderful Life

#4 on my list is the classic, It’s A Wonderful Life. This is Jimmy Stewart at his best. In this film, Clarence, the angel shows George Bailey (Stewart) how the world would be if he had never been born. I love this movie.

I’ll Be Home for Christmas

I’ll Be Home for Christmas finds it’s home on my list at #3. It tells the tale of a college brat whose only reason for coming home on Christmas break is because his dad promised him a Porsche. Along the way, through a set of unexpected and funny events, he learns what Christmas is really about.

Jingle All the Way

#2 on my list is the rock ’em, sock ’em Jingle All the Way! Schwarzenegger as the workaholic dad who forgets to get his son the toy he wants for Christmas spends the last day or so before the 25th searching all over town for a Turbo-Man action figure. One of the funniest holiday movies of all time!

Rocky IV

Taking a cue from Jason, I also included a movie that isn’t necessarily a Christmas movie, yet takes place during it. Rocky IV finds its rightful home at the top of my list. If you know me, you know how much I love the Rocky movies. This one finds our underdog hero facing Ivan Drago, the man that killed his former opponent turned friend, Apollo Creed. Through a montage, Rocky trains for his greatest fight ever which takes place on Christmas Day. This movie “will break you!”

Anyone else care to join in this meme challenge?

I’ll go ahead and tag John, Joel, and T.C.

MSE

2 Responses

  1. Yes, very different indeed! I was a bit surprised to see Rocky IV on here, but you can’t go wrong with the Italian Stallion! “Yo, Adrian!”

Leave a Reply

