• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Pastors

Last night at our church’s men’s ministry meeting (which is just about five guys right now), the topic of helping our pastor came up. I asked what ways we could help him (mind you I am fairly new to this church and don’t know exactly what ways he needs help, plus I wanted to think it out with the other guys). One person answered that we can help him in the church. Ok, that was vague.

Another person said something that I think needs to be addressed more directly. He said, “I honestly don’t know what the pastor does besides come up with a sermon each week.” It wasn’t a callous statement or sarcastic. The guy wanted to know. I have a feeling that the majority of congregations don’t know what their pastor does during the week.

So, I ask you, what does a pastor do during the average week? I can come up with a list myself, but I’m interested in what you have to say.

MSE

4 Responses

  1. I pastor (until the end of this month) a small semi-rural church and my days are sometimes riddled with tedious tasks, but my days are fairly consistent. I spend most mornings preparing sermons and most afternoons visiting church members and others in the community. There are always hospital visits to make, errands to run, etc., but my schedule is fairly predictable. Those tedious things that creep include changing the sign (marquee), checking and distributing mail, preparing the bulletin (my wife does that), answering the phone, etc. The stress of the pastorate, for me, comes in the interpersonal dealings with the people. Being the peacemaker or arbiter in disputes is stressful and a facet of the job I don’t enjoy, but it’s just part of it. There is a lot more to the role than these things, but this is the gist of it.

  2. Our pastor in Stellenbosch spends lots of time in hospitals. I don’t know another pastor whose done as many funerals as him.

    He also meets with other local Baptist pastors, particularly with Kayamandi Baptist, the nearest township (South African ghetto) by Stellenbosch. He’s over there a few times a week.

    And he reads.

  3. Our last pastor (the one I knew the best) started a school to mentor younger pastors. That kept him incredibly busy. He also wrote books. Even though our church had over 5,000 at the time, he called me in another state and talked for the longest time when my dad died. He was active with the IMB and on committees for the SBC and local association. He was involved in a conference of local ministers not associated with the SBC. I heard him talk about hospital visits, but I heard others say he’d visited him. When the boys were little and we joined that church, he had new members over every Sunday night.

    And somewhere in all that, he managed to fit in sermon prep!

    Jason: Those interpersonal things! IMHO, they are the tough part of being a teacher too!

  4. Bitsy: Yes–if I didn’t have to deal with people, pastoring would be a breeze! 🙂

Leave a Reply

