• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Disagreeing

Does anyone find it difficult to read through a book that you know shortly after beginning that you will disagree with a lot of what is put forth, or how it is put forth? I just started reading a review title (I’ll spare you the name for now) and I already disagree with the author’s methods and believe that there are better books (much better books!) covering the subject. The only thing I can figure to do is to read through it quick enough and be done with the thing (fortunately it’s a short book), but I feel like I may be doing a disservice by treating the book this way. Thoughts? Anyone else been in similar circumstances?

MSE

8 Responses

  1. It all depends on how well it is written and how the author comes across in their presentation. I disagree with like 80% of everything that I read from James Dunn but I really enjoy reading him. On the other hand, it almost killed me to read Kevin Giles’ Jesus and the Father: Modern Evangelicals Reinvent the Doctrine of the Trinity because he was whiny, annoying, unnecessarily argumentative, dishonest, arrogant, and an all around a-hole of a guy throughout his presentation. And I had to review that one as well. Needless to say it didn’t get a positive review.

  2. I agree with Nick, if its bad writing or sloppy or refuses to interact with the right sources then i toss it, if it just presents a different view from my own, i usually love it and how it challenges me.

  3. Daniel: I have in mind specifically his works on Christology. There are large portions of Jesus Remembered, Beginning from Jerusalem, and The Theology of Paul the Apostle that I haven’t read yet. And that says nothing of the many works of his that I don’t own.

  4. Daniel: Yeah, that, and his insistence that Paul’s Christology wasn’t controversial, i.e., no one bothered him about it because he didn’t see Jesus as deity. I also find his so-called Adam Christology unconvincing and strongly disagree that the NT doesn’t bear witness to Jesus receiving the full fledged worship reserved for God alone.

Leave a Reply

