• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Top 10 Superheroes

Now it’s time for another installment of “Top 10.” This time we’re dealing with superheroes. Pretty simple category. I’m not going to include any character that tries to imitate real (and by real I don’t mean real world) superheroes, such as Freakazoid or Super Elmo. This is about the superheroes that matter. So here we go.

  1. Batman (Bruce Wayne, not Dick Grayson)
  2. Superman
  3. Green Lantern
  4. Nightcrawler
  5. Captain America
  6. Iron Man
  7. Hawkman
  8. Green Lantern (Hal Jordan)
  9. Spiderman
  10. Nightwing

There you have it. The list of my favorite superheroes. How does that line up with yours?

16 Responses

  1. Brother, you must repent! Superman number 2?!?!?!? Say it aint so!!! Just teasing, though Superman eclipses all other super heroes, in my opinion! I would also rank Batman, Spiderman, and the Incredible Hulk (is he a superhero?).

    • I was on the fence with Hulk. He’s not quite a superhero, but Bruce Banner would wish to be able to control him in a way that would lead to superheroism. But then, there are times when Hulk acts Heroic (like when Betty is around). I don’t know.

      Superman and Batman I would say are on the same level (I just lean toward the broodiness of Batman more).

  2. Yeah, Jason’s right, Superman eclipses the rest. Technically Batman is just a hero, or some might say vigilante. He has no super-powers so he’s not a superhero.

    My list would look something like this:

    1. Superman
    2. He-Man (and She-Ra since they were twins)
    3. Spiderman
    4. Wolverine
    5. Batman
    6. The Flash
    7. Firestar
    8. Gambit
    9. Ice Man
    10. Silver Surfer

    Honorable mentions would go to the Martian Manhunter, Colossus, Thor, the Incredible Hulk, Blade, and the Human Torch.

  3. Martian Manhunter and Thor almost made my last as well. Could you say that Blade is a superhero though? He’s more like a vampire than anything.

    I forgot about Gambit. If I had remembered him, he might’ve made number 9 or 10 (pushing Nightwing off).

  4. Yeah, I’ll say Blade is a superhero because he’s got supernatural abilities (strength & speed). He’s half a vampire, but he has all of their strengths and none of their weaknesses.

  5. Day walker!!! I’m on the fence with calling Blade a superhero. Of course, if I don’t call him one because of his (half) vampirism, then could I call Superman a superhero (on account of his just being an alien)? I don’t know. I’ll give it to you.

  6. Man I can’t believe that neither Wolverine or Gambit made your list. It doesn’t get much better than them. *sigh*

    1. Wolverine
    2. Gambit
    3. Michelangelo (TMNT)
    4. Spawn
    5. Psylocke
    6. Havok
    7. Archangel
    8. Punisher
    9. Bishop
    10. Iceman

    Mine’s pretty heavy with X-Men characters. I think they had the best superheroes.

    One of the struggles with choosing the best super heroes is that there is so much repetition when it comes to powers and abilities that a character may seem cool but there is a more popular character that pretty much has that ability so it seems odd to include that character.

    Nobody from DC makes my list. I think they make the most boring comics. Spiderman doesn’t either because I think he was pretty boring too. In fact the whole Avenger cast of Marvel characters doesn’t make my list for that reason.

    I might have included more characters from Image comics like Wildcats, Youngblood, Wetworks, Pitt, Cyberforce, if I didn’t stop reading comics shortly after they came out.

    Surprised, I didn’t see Lobo make anyone’s list. He was almost as hot as Wolverine when I was growing up.

    Bryan L

    • Gambit almost made the list. I just forgot about him. Wolverine didn’t because I don’t like what Marvel has done with him in the movies.

  7. You know Wolverine always been my favorite since first seeing him in X-Men #1(my introduction to comics) and to tell the truth I don’t mind at all what they did with him in the movies. I think they made him about as good as you can when going from comic book to movie. What would you have changed?

    Bryan L

    • He’s just too lovable in the movies. I don’t know. It’s like he’s a stuffed bear or something (with claws, I know). Every once in a while he’s mean to someone, but not nearly enough. To be fair though, I haven’t seen the new movie yet, so that may change my mind.

  8. Bryan: Punisher isn’t really a superhero either. He’s just a big dude with a lot of guns. 😉 (Oh, and Matt, now that I think about it, Captain America wasn’t ‘super’ either.)

    I like a lot of the DC characters because I used to love the Justice League when I was a kid. Same thing with Spider Man. I watched Spider Man and His Amazing Friends religiously when I was little.

    Matt: Yeah, he’s a gentle, caring Wolverine in the latest movie, but it’s awesome nonetheless.

  9. Matt,
    In the comics Wolverine has relationships and loves. And he even had sidekicks. Remember Jubilee? A teenage girl who’s power was fireworks. Wasn’t Shadowcat his sidekick too for a while? Wolverine in the movie has a chip on his shoulder and plays the loner who reluctantly teams up with others just like in the comic books. He still has the same attitude and everything. The only major traits Wolverine had in the comic book that he didn’t have in the movies was that he was a lot shorter and he looked older (plus his blue hair). It’s understandable that they made him taller and a bit younger.

    Nick,
    Yeah I guess if you were to define it by actually having super abilities Punisher wouldn’t make it. But neither would Batman, who’s just a rich guy with a lot of gadgets. ; ) Captain America did have the super serum thing so I think he might still be considered super. If I replaced Punisher with a more proper super hero I might choose Nova.

    You know I’ve never seen those cartoons. I guess I just missed them growing up. Weird.

    Bryan L

  10. […] 10 List: Comic Book Villains Matt recently posted a top 10 list of his favorite superheroes.  I posted a tentative list of my own in the comments to his post (it might be revised upon […]

  11. Bryan: Yeah, I made the same note about Batman in my first comment to Matt. As far as Captain America’s super-serum goes, I think it only pushed him to the ultimate limits of humanity. He was stronger and faster than the average human, but he was only as strong and fast as a human could possibly be (plus he healed quick). I don’t know much about Nova but it’s a shame you didn’t watch those cartoons growing up. They were great!

  12. Bryan: Probably one reason why Wolverine didn’t make my list is that I never cared for him enough to read the X-Men comics for too long. I would agree that Captain America qualifies as a superhero though.

    Nick: Capt. America qualifies, I believe, because he literally was a super man. Plus anyone who can be frozen in ice for a few decades and then de-thawed has to have some latent super ability, right?

  13. Wolverine all the way, man!

Leave a Reply

