• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Translation of Mark 9:33-37

I know this is a day late and I apologize. Yesterday I couldn’t motivate myself to work on this very well. I blame it on the rain we had here all day.

This time I’m putting the Greek and my translation beside the HCSB. I’m thinking of doing this each week where I put a different version next to my own. So, let me know what version you would like to see next week and I’ll use that.

Anyway, here is my translation of Mark 9:33-37. Remember that I’m going for a fairly literal translation (which should explain a few things).

Greek My Translation HCSB
33 Καὶ ἦλθον εἰς Καφαρναούμ. Καὶ ἐν τῇ οἰκίᾳ γενόμενος ἐπηρώτα αὐτούς· τί ἐν τῇ ὁδῷ διελογίζεσθε; And they came into Capernaum. And having taken His place in the house, He was asking them, “What were you discussing among yourselves on the road?” Then they came to Capernaum. When He was in the house, He asked them, “What were you arguing about on the way?”
34 οἱ δὲ ἐσιώπων· πρὸς ἀλλήλους γὰρ διελέχθησαν ἐν τῇ ὁδῷ τίς μείζων. But they were silent, for on the road they were discussing with each other who was greatest. But they were silent, because on the way they had been arguing with one another about who was the greatest.
35 καὶ καθίσας ἐφώνησεν τοὺς δώδεκα καὶ λέγει αὐτοῖς· εἴ τις θέλει πρῶτος εἶναι, ἔσται πάντων ἔσχατος καὶ πάντων διάκονος. And having sat down, He summoned the twelve and He says to them, “If anyone desires to be first, he will be last of all and servant of all.” Sitting down, He called the Twelve and said to them, “If anyone wants to be first, he must be last of all and servant of all.”
36 καὶ λαβὼν παιδίον ἔστησεν αὐτὸ ἐν μέσῳ αὐτῶν καὶ ἐναγκαλισάμενος αὐτὸ εἶπεν αὐτοῖς· And having taken a child, He brought him in the middle of them, and having taken him in His arms He said to them, Then He took a child, had him stand among them, and taking him in His arms, He said to them,
37 ὃς ἂν ἓν τῶν τοιούτων παιδίων δέξηται ἐπὶ τῷ ὀνόματί μου, ἐμὲ δέχεται· καὶ ὃς ἂν ἐμὲ δέχηται, οὐκ ἐμὲ δέχεται ἀλλὰ τὸν ἀποστείλαντά με. “Whoever receives one child like this in My name, he himself receives Me. And whoever receives Me, he himself does not receive Me, but the one having sent Me.” “Whoever welcomes one little child such as this in My name welcomes Me. And whoever welcomes Me does not welcome Me, but Him who sent Me.”

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Insults? I love the feedback and I’m more than willing to explain myself on any piece of my translations. If I’m wrong on a part, please show me. I want to get better at this.

MSE

One Response

  1. Dear Matt Evans,

    I would like to know what you did with
    Mark 12:29-30
    Acts 2:21
    Romans 10:13

    Will you ever do the Bible or just the New Testament?

    Your friend, Richard

Leave a Reply

