• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Online vs Classroom

I only took one correspondence course during my time as an undergrad. It was tough to keep myself on task with it (ironically enough, it was a management course). I didn’t do that great in it, partly due to my lack of motivation and partly because there was plenty I didn’t understand as I went along. Now, I should’ve emailed the prof for it, but being 19 I still thought I could figure everything out for myself. Still, I think I would’ve had a higher grade had I been in a classroom.

This next semester I have an online class (Bible Study Methods & Hermeneutics). This could change if I don’t get a job soon, but that’s a little off topic (still waiting to hear back about that one part-time job). This time it’s a class that I’m interested in and probably know half the stuff for already. I still wish that I could take it in a classroom setting though (schedules and such prevent me from it this next semester). I like the interaction much better.

What about you? Do you prefer online courses or the classroom? Or a good mix?

MSE

4 Responses

  1. I prefer f2f. I took several correspondence courses as an undergrad. Helped speed up graduating taking courses in the summers without having to go to school. I do remember having to stay on top of them though to make sure I got finished and had the credits transferred.

    BUT I’ve really liked every online class I’ve taken at East Carolina in the two programs I’ve been in there. I took some online classes at Cal State and they might as well have been correspondence. At ECU – They have all had discussion components. The prof has lectures in print and on voice thread. He also grouped us by area so we could meet f2f which was really nice. Work is the same on campus and off.

    But still, I miss the people.

    • Online classes are handy when you have to take it, but I miss the people too. The discussions that come up in a classroom since it’s more than just your own voice are invaluable if you can do it.

  2. Since I’m a single father correspondence courses are much more convenient, plus all of my studying for the past 7 years as a layman has been independent home study so I can’t imagine that there’d be too much of a difference if I were to take an online course. If I do end up getting some kind of formal education it’s probably going to be some kind of distance learning.

Leave a Reply

