• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Will Facebook Go the Way of Geocities?

I’m sure some of you have heard the news that geocities is finally dead. It was the place to get your own spot on the internet back in the day. I was still too young to understand coding, but I got one at the time (I can’t even remember what I put on there now).

Soon enough the internet exploded with more and more opportunities. I used to have a Xanga account (actually I still do, but I never update any more), which is the original namesake of this blog. In high school that’s where I blogged. Now I don’t know anybody that still uses it.

Then came Myspace. I never really liked it, but I used it until Facebook opened up to my college (back in the days when only college students could get an account).

Now I’ve got a twitter and this blog. I use these two things most and just check Facebook more and more rarely. It seems like there’s always something bigger and better around the corner, doesn’t it? That’s why I think that Facebook will eventually go the way of Geocities. What do you think?

MSE

4 Responses

  1. It’s inevitable. BTW, I always wondered–what does your blog title mean?

    • It’s a term used in the Matrix movies (specifically the second one). They had to bring their ship up to broadcast depth in order to connect someone to the matrix. I took it for a blog in the same sort of way. Only here the ship would be my computer and the matrix is just the internet. The broadcast is my posts.

  2. I don’t think so. Facebook has caught on more than with the younger crowds. Plus with like 300,000 users worldwide it’s hard to figure out what would get them all to change. I think it’s here to stay for quite a while. I don’t see what any future competitors can offer that it doesn’t already provide or what they could do better.

Leave a Reply

