• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Translation of Acts 9:26-31

Today I post my first translation from the Greek New Testament onto this blog. Please be kind and comment with remarks that will help improve my translations in the future.

I chose to go with a mostly literal approach with my translation (and will probably continue to do so in the future). This is not because I think that dynamic translations are terrible. I don’t think that at all. I just find it easier to see the parallels and common language used by the author with the method I chose for this.

So without further ado, here is the Greek with my translation of Acts 9:26-31.

26 παραγενομενος δε εις ιερουσαλημ επειραζεν κολλασθαι τοις μαθηταις και παντες εφοβουντο αυτον μη πιστευοντες οτι εστιν μαθητης

When he came now into Jerusalem, he tried to be joined with the learners; but all were afraid of him, not believing that he was a learner.

27 βαρναβας δε επιλαβομενος αυτον ηγαγεν προς τους αποστολους και διηγησατο αυτοις πως εν τη οδω ειδεν τον κυριον και οτι ελαλησεν αυτω και πως εν δαμασκω επαρρησιασατο εν τω ονοματι του ιησου

Barnabas now was grasping him, brought him to the apostles and he himself told them how on the road he saw the Lord, and that He spoke to him, and how in Damascus he himself spoke fearlessly in the name of Jesus.

28 και ην μετ αυτων εισπορευομενος και εκπορευομενος εις ιερουσαλημ παρρησιαζομενος εν τω ονοματι του κυριου

And he was with them, going in and going out in Jerusalem, speaking fearlessly in the name of the Lord.

29 ελαλει τε και συνεζητει προς τους ελληνιστας οι δε επεχειρουν ανελειν αυτον

He was speaking and arguing with the Hellenistic Jews, but they were looking for a way to execute him.

30 επιγνοντες δε οι αδελφοι κατηγαγον αυτον εις καισαρειαν και εξαπεστειλαν αυτον εις ταρσον

But the brothers, having learned of this, they brought him into Caesarea and sent him out into Tarsus.

31 η μεν ουν εκκλησια καθ ολης της ιουδαιας και γαλιλαιας και σαμαρειας ειχεν ειρηνην οικοδομουμενη και πορευομενη τω φοβω του κυριου και τη παρακλησει του αγιου πνευματος επληθυνετο

Then the church down through all Judea and Galilee and Samaria was having peace, being built up and walking in the fear of the Lord and the comfort of the Holy Spirit, it was being increased.

Please let me know what you think. Things you would change, places you agree/disagree, have a question, etc. I’d love to know.

MSE

2 Responses

  1. My only question is in 9:26, why did you translate μαθητης as “learner” not “disciple”? All the translations I usually use say ‘disciple’, was wondering if there were any particular reasons you chose to go that route…

    • I know when I read “disciple” I barely pay any attention to what the word means. So, instead of continuing with that, I thought it better (for myself at least) to translate it as “learner.”

Leave a Reply

