• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Needle in a Haystack

Growing up, my parents always told me about how important it was to get a good education. I was raised to believe that if I worked hard in school, that when I graduate college I’d be able to get a good job. Now, well, now I’m not so sure.

I graduated back in May, yet still cannot find a job. I’ve gotten plenty of rejections, plenty more that I never even heard back from, and just one interview (followed by a rejection).

People keep saying it’s the economy, and that I just need to hold out a little longer. Well, it’s getting to the point where I can’t hold out any longer. Money is tight and it keeps getting tighter. I just can’t get a job (even though I worked hard and got my degree). It seems like it would’ve been better for me to drop out of high school and work at McDonald’s. By now I’d surely be managing a store.

All that college, all that money, it seems like a waste. It’s to the point where I’m looking into getting some (excuse the word) skubula job. A job where I will get yelled at all day by my manager (who has less education than me) and by customers. Just something, anything. A job that requires no education whatsoever. Of course, I’ve already been turned down by McDonald’s. So, where do I go? My wife heard that they’re hiring at Target. I’m going to apply over there on Monday.

Thanks, college! You’ve done nothing for me.

MSE

One Response

  1. That’s why you get your Ph.D. So you can end up having only 4 or 5 jobs in any given year for which you are qualified!

Leave a Reply

