• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

One Gospel To Rule Them All?

Before I begin, I would like to say that I believe that all four Gospels are important and would not dream of spending all of my time in one alone (and I trust nobody who reads this would either).

Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John

Ok, with that said, here are some hypothetical questions for you all to discuss: Which one Gospel (Matthew, Mark, Luke, or John) would you read/study if you only had one to choose? Why would you pick that one over the others?

MSE

11 Responses

  1. For me, it would be either Matthew or John. I have spent the most time in Matthew, so my relative familiarity with it would enable a better intensive study. John’s Christology alone is worth studying in his gospel.

  2. I love Mark and John equally for different reasons but if I’m forced to choose one over the other then I’d say Matthew because every time I read it I think that Matthew is a genius and Jesus comes off sounding like a genius. The way that Matthew crafts his narrative is amazing and his handling of the Hebrew Scriptures while seeming suspect at first glance is actually very sophisticated. Luke is cool but if I can’t have Luke-Acts together then I won’t consider him for this exercise. 😉

    • You’re right. Luke-Acts should always be together. But with this topic, it would give it an unfair advantage over Matthew, Mark, and John.

      I definitely agree with you on loving Mark and John equally. Forced to choose, I think I’d go with Mark. Just love the short-and-sweet nature of it.

  3. Mark. Hands down.

  4. Matt: Ummmm….Probably Matthew. As Nick mentioned, his use of the Hebrew scriptures is fertile ground for research.

  5. This was my question for this Friday – thanks Matt.

    I would choose John, then Luke, Mark and finally Matthew – although Luke is my favorite.

    • If Luke is your favorite, why choose John first?

      • I like studying Luke for the connection to Wisdom, which feeds into Wisdom Christology. John, on the other, has it all – the Incarnation, the Deity of Christ, vague nods to the Virgin Birth, the power of the Church, etc…

        If I had to stick with one, it would be John.

Leave a Reply

