• Westminster Bookstore

    Amazon Wish List
  • BibleWorks

Interview with Darrell Bock

Today I have the privilege of posting an interview with Darrell Bock. He has the job I know a lot of us wish we had – research professor. Plus, he teaches at Dallas Theological Seminary, which is where I plan on starting my ThM in the spring. He is one of those profs whom I hope to take several classes from during my time there.

Darrell Bock

First, tell us a little about yourself.

I teach NT at Dallas Theological Seminary and have been here for 27 years. I am married with three children and two grandsons.

What motivated you to enter your field of study? What keeps you going?

Jesus is fascinating, well worth studying with many things said about him, true and false. The study never ceases to be interesting and there is so much to learn and discuss.

What issues have you had to overcome along the way?

Really very little. I have had a pretty nice life. Even my mother-in-law says so.

What is your favorite passage of scripture?

Do not have just one. I love the text that says that John the Baptist is the greatest person born of woman, but the least in the kingdom is greater than he.

Can you divulge any information on any new publication or project on which you are working?

We have edited a major Historical Jesus study that will be out at the end of the year with a European series. Eerdmans will release it in a year. A book on the gospel is out the end of next year.

If there is one author/theologian that you believe everyone should read, who is it?

Not sure there is just one.

What do you think are the biggest problems facing New Testament scholarship today?

There is too much skepticism about the gospels and Jesus in many circles. The oral tradition that stands behind the gospels was solid and overseen by the apostles.

What areas do you think New Testament scholars will have to focus on in the next ten years?

There is always work to do in reference to Jesus and Paul. The connection between the two needs attention.

Where do you believe are the best places for a student to study the New Testament either as an undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral student?

There are several good schools. It depends what someone wants to learn. I will limit myself to seminaries. Dallas, Talbot, Trinity are solid.

Lastly, if there is one piece of advice you could give to someone entering New Testament scholarship, what would it be?

NT study takes work and never forget the ancient sources.

Thank you, Dr. Bock, for taking time to answer these questions. I know the beginning of the semester is a difficult time to do so. I truly appreciate it. TO my blog readers, remember, if there is a NT scholar you would like featured in an interview here then let me know and I will see what I can do about it.

MSE

6 Responses

  1. It’s funny that Bock’s responses were so concise, given the immensity of his commentaries! He was probably in the middle of writing or editing! 🙂

    • Probably. Not to mention I asked him to do this right at the beginning of the semester. Starting classes and meeting students can take its toll, I’m sure. Still, there’s something to be said for being concise. Not all of these interviews should be as long as others.

  2. Matt: Being concise is indeed appreciated. How many more interviews do you have lined up?

    • At the moment, two. Next week it will be with Thomas Schreiner. The week after that will be with Robert Yarbrough. I received an email back from another scholar who may fill the week after that. We shall see. For now I won’t reveal his name, but if he decides to do it I will be very, very happy. 😉

  3. Matt: Schreiner is one of my favorite scholars and preachers–can’t wait for that one! I’ll be interested in Yarbrough, too. I’m working on a similar idea–to post interviews with the authors of the books I’m reviewing to coincide with the reviews themselves. I hope I can get a few of them to agree!

  4. You constructed a handful of superb tips with your posting, “Interview with Darrell Bock
    BROADCAST DEPTH”. I am going to possibly be coming back again to ur blog in the near future.

    With thanks -Leif

Leave a Reply

